I have the location maps of my dad's B 25

Discussion about wrecks and losses as well as historic sites in the Pacific.

Moderator: Moderator

Kilroy
Private

I have the location maps of my dad's B 25

Post by Kilroy »

My Dad made a wheels up landing during the war in his B 25 named Thumper. I have the maps the Aussi's dropped to him. He and his crew walked to safety. Anybody have an idea who might like to have theses maps and,I would hope go get the bird? From the Army Air Force photos I have, Thumper looked pretty good and was not burned or blown up by dad or the crew when they left.

Anthony J. Mireles
Captain

Re: I have the location maps of my dad's B 25

Post by Anthony J. Mireles »

I am an aviation accident researcher and author.

What is the serial number of the airplane?

What day did it crash?

Who was on board the airplane?

Do you have an MACR number?

Maybe I can turn up some info in my data base of accidents.

If the airplane is still there, some one on this forum might know if it is still intact.

TonyM.

Kilroy
Private

Post by Kilroy »

Crash ( He might object to that word) landed December 22, 1943
12 miles northwest of Dumpu Ramu Valley, New Guinea
345th Bomb Group 501st?
Model B25D-5 (d-1)
Serial 41-30071

Crew;
Capt. Walter D. Kilroy
1/Lt. Steven L. Marticorena
2/Lt Thomas C. Lipscomb
S/Sgt. Stanley L. Dale
Crew Chief - Greenquist
S/Sgt. Newton A. Arnold

The men who walked out of the jungle with Kilroy were Arnold, Dale, Richter and 2/Lt. Gordon l. Bedell

Hope this helps. I would really love to hear someone found and restored this aircraft

Anthony J. Mireles
Captain

Kilroy,

Those walk out stories are always good and exciting and I am glad they made it.

Were the other men in the crew who did not walk out with your father killed in the crash landing? And I noticed two men who walked out but were not part of the crew. These would be airmen from other downed airplanes making the trip with your father's group?