Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Bangladesh (People's Republic of Bangladesh)  
Bangladesh is located in central Asia bordering India to the north, west and east. Officially known as the People's Republic of Bangladesh. To the southeast is Myanmar (Burma). During World War II, Bangladesh was known as the "Bengal Region" of India.

During 1947 when India was partitioned, the Bengal region became known as "East Pakistan" and was partitioned along religious lines, with the western to India and the eastern part with a Muslim majority going to the newly formed nation of Pakistan as a province called East Bengal (later renamed East Pakistan).

After the Bangladesh Liberation War ended with a decisive victory over Pakistan on December 16, 1971 the nation gained independence. Today, Bangladesh borders India on all sides except for a small border with Burma (Myanmar) to the southeast and the Bay of Bengal to the south.

Rangpur Division
Located in the north of Bangladesh

Dhaka (Dacca)
Capital of Bangladesh along the the Buriganga River.

Chittagong Division
Located in southeastern Bangladesh

Chittagong is located in the Chittagong Division, bordering the Bay of Bengal

Feni (Fenny)
Located in southeast Bangladesh includes Fenny Airfield

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram