Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT)  
The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is administered by the United Kingdom is comprised of seven atolls in the Chagos Archipelago (Chagos Islands) in the Indian Ocean south of the equator comprised of over 1,000 islands that span almost 22,000 square miles. The largest island is Diego Garcia Island.

Discovered by Portuguese explorers in the early 1500s. In the 1790s settled by the French then after the Napoleonic Wars transfered to the British. Prewar and during the Pacific War, Diego Garcia was a dependency under the the British Colony of Mauritius.

During 1965, the Chagos Islands were detached and became part of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) administered by the United Kingdom.

Diego Garcia Island
Largest island in the Chagos Archipelago with Diego Garcia Airport (NAF Diego Garcia).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
December 10, 2023



Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram