Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Burma (Republic of the Union of Myanmar)  
Burma is located in Southeast Asia. Borders the Bay of Bengal to the southwest and Andaman Sea to the south. To the southwest and west borders Bangladesh and India. To the north borders China and east Laos and Thailand. Prewar and during World War II British Burma. Today known as Republic of the Union of Myanmar or simply Myanmar. The capital is Naypyidaw and its largest city is Yangon (Rangoon).

After the Anglo-Burmese Wars in 1824–1885 when Britain established the colony of British Burma or simply Burma. On April 1, 1937, Burma became a separately administered colony of Great Britain under Ba Mau the first Prime Minister and Premier of Burma.

Wartime History
At the start of the Pacific War, the Allies wanted to hold Burma to allow a road for supplies to be built from India into China. During March 1942 the Japanese invaded Burma, forcing British and American forces to withdraw into India. During March 7-9, 1942 the Japanese occupied Rangoon and in May 1942 occupied Mandalay.

On August 1, 1943 occupying Japan declared Burma independent as the State of Burma with a puppet government led by Ba Maw. In response nationalist leaders formed the Anti-Fascist Organization in August 1944 to ask Britain for support.

The Japanese had ambitious engineering plans in Burma, using POW and local labor to complete their own rail Thai-Burma railroad. At the height of the war, the Japanese had 85,000 troops in Burma. By the end of the war, the majority had been killed in battle and died of disease and starvation. During early May 1945, Rangoon was liberated by the British Army and Indian Army.

With Burma occupied by the Japanese, American aircraft were forced to fly over the Himalaya Mountains "The Hump" to reach China while engineers worked to construct the Burma Road, one of the world's greatest engineering projects completed in early 1945 that linked India to China by road.

Burma (Myanmar, Republic of the Union of Myanmar)
Rakhine State  located on the west coast bordering Bangladesh includes Akyab Island.
Shan State  located at the northeast corner of Burma bordering China, Laos Thailand.
Kachin State  located in northern Burma bordering China to the north, state capital Myitkjina (Myitkyina).
Kachin State  located at the north of Burma, state capital is Myitkjina (Myitkyina).

Naypyidaw Union Territory

Naypyidaw (Nay Pyi Taw)  capital of Myanmar built between 2002-2012
Yangon Region (Rangoon Region)
Rangoon (Yangoon, Yangon)  former national capital occupied by the Japanese 1942-1945.
Mingaladon  located in the northern portion of Rangoon.
Insein  located to the north of Rangoon.
Sagaing Division
Indaw  landing zones White City, Blackpool and Broadway.
Mandalay Region
Mandalay  located in central Burma.
Meiktila  located in central Burma.
Bago Region
Toungoo  city north of Rangoon in the Bago Region.
Pegu (Bago)  city southeast of Burma.
Ayeyarwady Region
Bassien (Pathein)  located near the Bassein River (Pathein River) a western branch of the Irrawaddy River.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
July 24, 2023


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram