Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Ceylon (British Ceylon, Sri Lanka)  
Ceylon Island is located southeast of India. Until 1948, known as British Ceylon or simply Ceylon. Today known as Sri Lanka. The administrative capital is Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte also known as simply Kotte. The executive and judicial capital is Colombo.

Wartime History
On February 25, 1942 British General Wavell, commanding American, British, Dutch and Australians (ABDA) forces in South East Asia was ordered to move his headquarters to Ceylon. On April 4, 1942 Colombo was attacked by Japanese carrier aircraft.

Western Province
Located on the western coast with provincial capital Colombo.

Eastern Province
Spans the eastern coast with provincial capital Trincomalee.

Central Province
Located in the center of Ceylon (Sri Lanka) with provincial capital Kandy.

Southern Province
Spans the southern coast with provincial capital Galle.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
May 24, 2023


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram