Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Cook Islands  
The Cook Islands are fifteen small islands in this South Pacific Ocean. In the Cook Islands Māori language known as Kūki 'Āirani. The nation has a total land area of 240 square kilometers. Today, the Cook Islands are a self-governing parliamentary democracy in free association with New Zealand.

Penrhyn Atoll (Tongareva)
Largest and most remote of the Cook Islands. Also known as Tongareva, Mangarongaro, Hararanga, or Te Pitaka.

Penrhyn Island
Located in Penryn Atoll (Tongareva) includes Penrhyn Airfield (Robinson Field).

Aitutaki (Araʻura, Utataki)
Located in the Cook Islands north of Rarotonga.

Aitutaki Airfield

Build by U.S. and New Zealand forces in the early months of the Pacific War and still in use today.

Pukapuka Atoll
LOcated in the north of the Cook Islands.

Pukapuka Island (Danger Island, Wale)
Located at the northern edge of Pukapuka Atoll.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram