Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Federated States of Micronesia (Caroline Islands)  
Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. The country’s land area equals 271 square miles. Prewar and during the Pacific War known as the Caroline Islands. Today the Federal States of Micronesia comprise the islands states (from east to west) of Kosrae State, Pohnpei State, Chuuk State and Yap State. To the south is Papua New Guinea (PNG), southwest is Palau and to the west is the Philippines.

Prewar know as the Caroline Islands. After the Spanish-American War, the Germans assumed administration of the Caroline Islands. During 1914, during World War I, British warships shelled and destroyed the German colonial plantation owner's radio station. On October 7, 1914, a Japanese Expeditionary Squadron landed on Yap in a bloodless takeover. Afterwards, a secret treaty agreement between Japan and Britain guaranteeing Japanese control over all Pacific islands north of the Equator that became part of the Treaty of Versailles during 1919.

Wartime History
After World War I, occupied by the Japanese and developed as part of their South Seas colonies. During the 1930s, many of the islands were fortified as military installations and developed into airfields. Truk Lagoon was developed into a major Japanese anchorage and base area. Attacked by Allied aircraft but bypassed. Occupied by the Japanese until the official surrender of Japan on September 2, 1945.

Postwar, occupied by American forces. In 1947, became a U.S. Trust Territory created by United States. A Compact of Free Association, effective since 1986 provides for full self-government but delegates responsibility for defense to the United States. The United Nations Security Council dissolved the trusteeship in 1990, and the United Nations admitted the country in 1991.

Kosrae State (Kusaie)
Located at the eastern end of FSM. Borders Pohnpei State to the west. Includes Kosrae Island (Kusaie).

Pohnpei State (Ponape)
Located in the center east of FSM. Borders Chuuk State to the west and Kosrae State to the east.

Chuuk State (Truk)
Located at the center of FSM. Borders Yap State to the west and Pohnpei State to the east.

Yap State
Located in the west of FSM. Borders Chuuk State to the east and the Philippine Sea to the west.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
March 23, 2023


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram