Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Indonesia (Republic of Indonesia, Netherlands East Indies)  
Indonesia is located in Southeast Asia between the Indian Ocean and Pacific Ocean. Borders Australia to the south and Papua New Guinea to the east. Prewar, a Dutch colony known as the Netherlands East Indies (NEI) or Dutch East Indies (DEI).

Java (Jawa)  divided into four provinces and includes Jakarta, Yogyakarta
Java Sea  included the Battle of the Java Sea of February 27, 1942
Sunda Strait  included the Battle of the Java Sea of February 27, 1942

  Part of the Greater Sunda Islands
  Ceram, and surrounding islands, known as the Spice Island
  Western half of Timor, formally Portuguese, today Indonesian
  Part of the Sunda Islands
  Molucca Islands including Morotai, Halmahera, Ternate, Wai Galela
  Molucca Islands including Seram (Ceram), Aru Islands, Kai Islands
East Nusa Tenggara Province
  Located to the east of Bali and includes Lombok
  Located to the east of Bali and includes Lombok
  Located to the east of Bali
  Includes Bali Island
  Formally West Irian Jaya, Dutch New Guinea
  Formally Irian Jaya, Dutch New Guinea

Indonesian Borneo
Indonesian Borneo  southern portion of Borneo Island
East Kalimantan Province (Kalimantan Timur)  located on the eastern side of southern Borneo.
South Kalimantan Province (Kalimantan Timur)  located at the southeast tip of Borneo
Central Kalimantan Province (Kalimantan Tengah)  located at the southern tip of Borneo
West Kalimantan Province (Kalimantan Barat)  lodated at the southwest tip of Borneo

Wartime History
During early January 1942, Japanese forces occupied Sulawesi (Celebes)
and Timor. General Wavell, commanding the American, British, Dutch and Australian (ABDA) forces in South East Asia was ordered to move his headquarters to Ceylon (Sri Lanka) on February 25, 1942. News came of the imminent invasion by the Japanese 16th Army of Java, defended by only 30,000 troops under the Dutch General ter Poorten. After Allied forces lost the Battle of the Java Sea, the Allies began to pull out of Indoesia. On March 5th, the Dutch were obliged to evacuate Batavia, which was declared an "open city", and on March 9th the Dutch and Allied forces in Java surrendered. Most of Indoesia remained in Japanese hands for the duration of the war. After the war, the new Indoesian Air Force equipped itself with abandoned Japanese aircraft, and used them in the late 1940's against the Dutch. Later, Indonesia gain independence from the Netherlands.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
January 1, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram