Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Irian Jaya (West New Guinea, West Irian, Irian Barat)  Indonesia
Irian Jaya was the name of western half of New Guinea and surrounding islands after Dutch New Guinea (DNG). On August 15, 1962 became part of Indonesia after the New York Agreement. Prewar and during the Pacific War part of the Dutch New Guinea (DNG) in the Netherlands East Indies (NEI). Afterwards, became known as West New Guinea. In 1963 renamed West Irian (Irian Barat). In 1973 during the Suharto administration renamed Irian Jaya, meaning "to rise" or "rising spirit" in the Biak language but sometimes translated as "Glorious Irian". In 2002 renamed Papua Province (Provinsi Papua) and in 2003 the western half became West Papua Province (Papua Barat).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
August 7, 2019


Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram