Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Raja Ampat Islands Group (Raja Ampat Islands) West Papua Province Indonesia
The Raja Ampat Islands Group (Raja Ampat Islands or Raja Ampat Group) is located to the northwest of the western tip of the Vogelkop Peninsula (Bird's Head Peninsula) of western New Guinea. Prewar and during World War II part of the Netherlands East Indies (NEI). Today located in the Raja Ampat Regency in West Papua Province (West Irian Jaya) of Indonesia. Borders Sorong Regency to the east and Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku) to the west and south.

Waigeo Island (Pulau Waigeo)
Island off the Vogelkop Peninsula

Gam Island (Pulau Gam)
Borders Waigeo Island to the north and Dampier Strait to the south.

Salawati Island (Pulau Salawati)
Island to the west of New Guinea includes Samate (Semate).

Sele Strait (Galowa Strait, Revenges Strait)
Located between Salawati Island and western New Guinea.

Batanta Island (Pulau Batanta)
Island to the north of Salawati Island

Pitt Strait (Sagewin Strait)
Located between Salawati Island and Batanta Island.

Dampier Strait (Augusta's Strait)
Located between Waigeo Island and Gam Island to the north and Batanta Island to the south.

Kaboe Island (Pulau Yefkabu)
Small island to the west of Waigeo Island and Gam Island.

Misool Island
Located to the west of New Guinea.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


Map 2007
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram