Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Schouten Island Group Biak Numfor Regency | Papua Province Indonesia
The Schouten Island Group (Schouten Islands) is located in Cenderawasih Bay (Geelvink Bay) and consists of Biak Island, Supiori Island, Yapen Island (Japen), Owi Island, Noemfoor Island (Noemfoer, Noemfor, Numfor) plus other smaller islands. Also known as "Biak Islands" or "Geelvink Islands" or "Schouten Archipelago". The Schouten Islands are roughly 50 km off the northern coast of New Guinea. Prewar and during the Pacific War, part of Dutch New Guinea (DNG) in the Netherlands East Indies (NEI). Today located in Biak Numfor Regency in Papua Province in Indonesia.

The Schouten Island Group is part of Papua Province in Indonesia. It includes three regency including: Biak Numfor Regency, Yapen Islands Regency and Supiori Regency. In Indonesia, also known as "Kepulauan Biak".

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
December 13, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram