Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Ogasawara Subprefecture 小笠原支庁  Japan

The Ogasawara Subprefecture (Ogasawara-shichō, 小笠原支庁) include the Bonin Islands (Ogasawara Islands) of Japan. The prefecture government maintains an office on Chi Chi Jima (Chichi Jima) and a branch office on Haha Jima.

Bonin Islands (Ogasawara Islands)
Father Island Group (Father Islands)
Chi Chi Jima (Father Island, Ogasawara)  located in the Bonin Islands.
Chi Chi Jima Harbor  borders Chi Chi Jima Island.
Mother Island Group (Mother Islands)
Haha Jima (Mother Island)  located in the Bonin Islands.
Okimura (Oki)  located on the west central portion of Haha Jima.
Volcano Island Group (Volcano Islands)
Nishinoshima (Nishino-shima (Rosario)  located to the north of the Volcano Islands
North Iwo Jima (Kita Iwo Jima)  located to the north of Iwo Jima.
Iwo Jima (Iwo To)  known as sulfur island in Japanese, USMC landing on February 19, 1945.
Minami Iwo Jima  volcanic island to the south.
Marcus Island (Minamitorishima)  easternmost Japanese island.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
November 25, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram