Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
The Korean peninsula is located at the east of Asia. Since 1945, the Korean peninsula is divided between the Republic of Korea (South Korea) and Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea). In the north, the Korean peninsula borders Manchuria (Manchukuo) in China to the north. Borders the Sea of Japan to the east.

Wartime History
In 1904, the Russo-Japanese War pushed the Russians out of Korea. During 1910, an already Japanese occupied Korea was forced to sign the Japan-Korea Annexation Treaty.

Over five million Koreans were conscripted for labor beginning in 1939, and tens of thousands of men were forced into Japan's military. Close to 400,000 Korean labourers lost their lives due to the war. Approximately 200,000 girls and women, mostly from China and Korea, were forced into sexual slavery for the Japanese military as "comfort women". On August 12, 1945 during Operation August Storm Soviet forces enter Korea.

The United Nations developed plans for a trusteeship administration, the Soviet Union administering the peninsula north of the 38th parallel: Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) and the United States administering the south: Republic of Korea (South Korea). At the end of the war, there were over 850,000 Japanese settlers in Korea and most were repatriated to Japan.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram