Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Kangwŏn Province 강원도  DPRK (North Korea)
Located on the southeastern portion of North Korea. Also known as "Kangweonto" or "Kangwon Province". Borders the Republic of Korea (South Korea) to the south, the Sea of Japan to the east, North Hwanghae Province to the west and South Hamgyong Province to the north.

After the Pacific War, Korean provincial borders were redrawn. Kangwŏn Province was split at the 38th parallel north into a zone under the control of the Soviet Union and south under American control.

Wŏnsan (Wonsan)  Port city and naval base in southeastern North Korea
Wŏnsan Harbor  Harbor located offshore Wonsan

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram