Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Laos (French Protectorate of Laos)  
Laos borders Burma (Myanmar) to the west, Thailand to the south, Vietnam to the east and Yunnan Province in China to the north. Previously known as the Kingdom of Lan Xang. During 1893–1946 Laos was a French colony known as the French Protectorate of Laos and was part of French Indochina or Indo-China encompassing present day Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. During 1946 granted self-rule within the French Union. On October 22, 1953 became independent from France. On December 2, 1975 Laos became the Lao People's Democratic Republic under the Pathet Lao divided into eighteen provinces.

Wartime History
During the Pacific War, occupied by the Japanese Army until the spring of 1945.

During 1946 granted self-rule within the French Union.

Vientiane (Viang chan)
Capital and largest city of Laos, located on the bank of the Mekong River near the border with Thailand. Also known as Viangchan or Wiangchan. During World War II, Viangchan was occupied with little resistance by the Japanese Army under the command of Sako Masanori. On March 9, 1945 French paratroopers arrived, and reoccupied the city on April 24, 1945.

Luang Prabang
Located in central Laos in Louangphabang Province.

Savannakhet (Khanthabouli, Kaysone Phomvihane)
Located in western Laos, capital of Savannakhet Province, previously known as Khanthabouli.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
November 27, 2022


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram