Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Mauritius (Republic of Mauritius)  
Mauritius (Republic of Mauritius) is located in the Indian Ocean roughly 1,200 miles off the southeast coast of Africa. Includes Mauritius Island, Rodrigues Island, Agaléga Island and St. Brandon Island. The capital is Port Louis on Mauritius Island. To the north is Seychelles Islands (Republic of Seychelles). Prewar and during the Pacific War, Mauritius was a British colony. On March 12, 1968 gained independence from the United Kingdom and became the Republic of Mauritius.

Wartime History
During World War II, Allied convoys passed Mauritius and several Allied ships were sunk in the vicinity of Port Louis by German U-Boats.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram