Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    New Guinea  
New Guinea is the second largest island in the world situated just south of the equator surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Today, divided in roughly half between Papua New Guinea (PNG) forming the eastern half and the western half is Papua Province (Provinsi Papua, Irian Jaya) and West Papua Province (Papua Barat, West Irian Jaya) in Indoneisa. To the south is Australia, to the east is the Solomon Islands and to the west is Ceram (Seram), Molucca Islands (Maluku) and Celebes (Sulawesi) in Indonesia.

The western half of New Guinea was known as Dutch New Guinea administered by the Dutch and was part of the Netherlands East Indies (NEI). The eastern half was divided between Papua in the southeast and New Guinea in the northeast administered by Germany until the World War I, then Australia.

Wartime History
During World War II, New Guinea was the site of intense fighting and battles on land, sea and air that lasted from the start of the Pacific War until the surrender of Japan.

New Guinea remains divided along the same border down the middle. The eastern half is the independent state of Papua New Guinea (PNG). The western half is part of Indoneisa divided between Papua Province (Provinsi Papua, Irian Jaya) and West Papua Province (Papua Barat, West Irian Jaya).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
February 22, 2020


Map 1944
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram