Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Cagayan Province Luzon Philippines
Cagayan Province is located in the Cagayan Valley in the northeast of Luzon in the Philippines. Borders both Apayao Province and Ilocos Norde Province to the west. To the north is the Luzon Strait and Babuyan Island Group (Babuyan Islands).

Located near the northeastern tip of Luzon. On December 10, 1941 the Japanese Army "Tanaka Detachment" that departed from the Terashima Strait to Mako (Pescadores) landed at Gonzaga with an additional landing at Aparri.

Occupied by the Japanese Army "Tanaka Detachment" on December 10, 1941 with an additional landing at Gonzaga. Occupied by the Japanese until June 23, 1945 when US Army 188th Glider Infantry Regiment landed at Aparri Airfield and liberated the area.

Provincial capital, occupied by the Japanese on December 12, 1941.

Located near the northern coast of Luzon

Located to the south of Tuguegarao.

Babuyan Island Group (Babuyan Islands)
The Babuyan Islands is an archipelago located in the Luzon Strait north of Luzon. The archipelago consists of four major islands and their surrounding smaller islands including: Babuyan Island, Calayan Island, Dalupiri Island, Fuga Island, and Camiguin Island. To the north is the Balintang Channel and Batanes Province.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
December 11, 2020


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram