Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Cavite Province Luzon Philippines
Cavite Province includes the southern coastal area of Luzon in the Philippines bordering Manila Bay and offshore islands. Borders Laguna Province to the east, Manila is roughly 30km to the northeast, Batangas Province to the south, Manila Bay to the north and the South China Sea to the west. Cavite Province includes the islands of Corregidor Island.

Manila Bay
Corregidor and the other islands in Manila Harbor fall under the jurisdiction of the Cavite Province (not Bataan or Manila as many believe) the island are also tagged as a Military Reservoir Zone and partly under the jurisdiction of the Navy and Marines.

Corregidor Island (Fort Mills, The Rock)
Island fortress guarding the entrance to Manila Bay fortified with gun batteries.

Caballo Island (Fort Hughes)
Another fortified island, off limits to visitors today.

El Fraile (Fort Drum)
Made into a concerete battleship shape guarding the southern entrance of Manila Harbor nearest to Cavite.

Carabao Island (Fort Frank)
Island with fortress, closest to Cavite on the southern entrance to Manila Harbor.

Borders the southern edge of Manila Bay. Cavite Naval Base, Sangley Point and Canacao.

Inland from the the southern edge of Manila Bay.

On February 3, 1945, the 11th Airborne Division parachuted at Tagaytay Ridge.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
September 3, 2020


Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram