Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate Eastern District New Britain District
Map of the Territory of Papua and Territory of New Guinea
Prewar and during World War II colony administered by Australia. On September 16, 1975 both territories were combined and gained independence as Papua New Guinea (PNG). To the west is Dutch New Guinea, to the east is the British Solomon Islands Protectorate (BSIP) and to the south is Australia.
The Territory of Papua was divided into: Western District, Delta District, Gulf District, Central District, East Central District, Eastern District, Southeastern District and Northern District. The Territory of New Guinea was divided into: Sepik District, Manus District, Madang District, Morobe District, New Britain District, New Ireland District and Kieta District.
Credit: Australian National Mapping Section, Department of the Interior via ANU 3594  Date: 1949

High Resolution Version
Acquire This Image

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information?

Make A Donation | Previous Page | Pacific Wrecks

  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram