Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    New Ireland New Ireland Province Papua New Guinea (PNG)
New Ireland is a long narrow island that spans from the southeast to the northwest. At the southeastern is Cape Saint George (Cape St. George) and at the northwest is Kavieng. Borders the Saint Georges Channel to the west and the Solomon Sea to the south and east. Further to the southwest is New Britain. To the southeast is Bougainville. In the local language known as Latangai. Between 1884 until September 1914 known as Neu-Mecklenburg or Neumecklenburg (New Mecklenburg) and was part of Deutsch Neu Guinea (German New Guinea). In 1914 renamed New Ireland after Ireland in the British Isles. Prewar and during the Pacific War part of the Territory of New Guinea. Today, New Ireland and the surrounding offshore islands are are part of New Ireland Province in Papua New Guinea (PNG).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
September 15, 2020


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram