Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Central Province  Solomon Islands

Central Province is located in the center of the Solomon Islands. Central Province encompasses the Florida Island Group, Russell Island Group and Savo Island. Borders Iron Bottom Sound and Guadalcanal Province to the south and Malaita Province to the east, Santa Isabel Province (Isabel Province) to the north and Western Province to the northwest. Previously, Central Province included Rennell and Bellona Province until it became a separate province in 1993.

Iron Bottom Sound  body of water between the Florida Islands and Guadalcanal.
Savo Island  circular volcanic island located in Iron Bottom Sound.
Russell Islands Group (Russell Islands)  located in the central Solomon Islands.
Tulagi Island  located in the Florida Islands Group prewar seat of British colonial government.
Tulagi Harbor (Tulagi Anchorage, Tulagi Roads)  located between Tulagi an Florida Island.
Florida Island Group (Florida Islands)  located to the north of Guadalcanal.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram