Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Santa Isabel Island (Isabel)  Solomon Islands
Santa Isabel Island is located in Santa Isabel Province (Isabel Province) in the Solomon Islands. Also known as Isabel Island or spelled Ysabel Island or Mahaga Island. Offshore is Papatura Island (Papatura Fe), Ekiti Island and Fera Island.

To the north is the South Pacific Ocean and to the northwest is Choiseul Province and Choiseul Island (Lauru). To the southeast is Malaita Province and Malaita Island to the southeast. To the south is the Indispensable Strait and Central Province including the Florida Island Group. To the west is the New Geogia Sound and "The Slot" and Western Province and New Georgia Island. To the south is Guadalcanal and to the southeast is Florida Island (Nggela Sule, Big Gela) and Malaita Island.

Santa Isabel Island (Isabel Island)
Rekata Bay (Rakata)  borders the northeast coast of Santa Isabel.
Suavanao (Suavanau) located on the northeast coast of Santa Isabel.
Tatamba (Tanabuli, Tunnibuli, Tanambuli)  located on the southeast coast of Santa Isabel.
Buala  located on the eastern coast of Santa Isabel Island.
Thousand Ships Bay  borders the southeastern coast of Santa Isabel Island.

Offshore Islands
Papatura Island (Papatura Fe)  located off Rekata Bay.
Ekiti Island  located off Papatura Island, Rekata Bay and Suavanao Point.
Fera Island  located off Buala on Santa Isabel Island.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


August 21, 1943
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram