Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Territory of New Guinea (TNG)  
Between 1884 until September 1914 part of Deutsch Neu Guinea (German New Guinea). Prewar and during World War II the Territory of New Guinea (TNG) was the northern half of eastern New Guinea and offshore islands including the Admiralty Islands, New Britain, New Ireland and Bougainville administered by Australia. Also known as simply "New Guinea". Bordered Territory of Papua to the south and the equator to the north.

The Territory of New Guinea was divided into: Sepik District, Manus District, Madang District, Morobe District, New Britain District, New Ireland District and Kieta District.

On September 16, 1975 the Territory of New Guinea and Territory of Papua gained independence as Papua New Guinea (PNG) officially known as the Independent State of Papua New Guinea.

The former Territory of New Guinea districts became East Sepik Province and West Sepik Province (dividing the former Sepik District), Manus Province, Madang Province, Morobe Province, East New Britain Province and West New Britain Province (dividing the former New Britain District), New Ireland Province and Bougainville Province, today Autonomous Region of Bougainville (AROB) (formally Kieta District).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
June 15, 2023


Map 1949

Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram