Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Territory of Papua  
Prewar and during World War II the Territory of Papua was the southern half of eastern New Guinea administered by Australia. Also known as simply "Papua". Bordered Territory of New Guinea to the north and Australia to the south.

The Territory of Papua was divided into districts: Western District, Delta District, Gulf District, Central District, East Central District, Eastern District, Southeastern District and Northern District.

On September 16, 1975 gained independence as the Independent State of Papua New Guinea combining the Territory of Papua and Territory of New Guinea becoming Papua New Guinea (PNG).

On September 16, 1975 the Territory of Papua and Territory of New Guinea gained independence as Papua New Guinea (PNG) officially known as the Independent State of Papua New Guinea.

The former Territory of Papua districts became Western Province, Gulf Province (combining Delta District and Gulf District), National Capital District (NCD) and Central Province (formally Central District), Milne Bay Province (combining East Central District, Eastern District and South Eastern District) and Oro Province (formally Northern District).

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 17, 2021


Map 1949

Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram