Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Timor Island  
Timor Island at the eastern end of the Lesser Sunda Islands. During 1515, the first Portuguese to arrived on Timor Island. In 1702, became Portuguese Timor, a Portuguese colony. In 1640 the Dutch East India Company settled West Timor and by 1799 became a Dutch colony. In 1859 a treated between the Dutch and Portuguese divided Timor Island and was updated in 1893. The boundary line was not fully resolved until 1912.

Prewar and during World War II Timor Island was divided between Portuguese Timor in the east and Dutch Timor in the west. During early 1942 Japan occupied all of Timor until the official surrender of Japan in September 1945. In 1949 after Indonesia independence, the western half became known as Indonesian Timor. Today Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste (East Timor) and West Timor (Timor Barat) in East Nusa Tenggara of Indonesia.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
August 18, 2019


Map 1999
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram