Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)  
The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) also known as the Soviet Union exisited between 1922–1991. Also known as the Soviet Union. In Russian known as Союз Советских Социалистических Республик (CCCP). In the Far East, borders Mongolia and China. Today known as Russia (Russian Federation).

On December 28, 1922 established by the Treaty on the Creation of the USSR and Declaration of the Creation of the USSR that officially established the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).

World War II
During the late 1930's tensions between the Soviet Union and Japan increased. In the Far East, the poorly defined borders of the Empire of Manchukuo resulted in border incidents and conflicts including two undeclared border wars. The first was the Battle of Lake Khasan / Changkufeng Incident during July 1938–August 1938 on the border between Manchuria and Russia. The second was the Battle of Nomonhan / Battle of Khalkhin Gol during May 1939–September 1939 at the border between Manchuria and Mongolia. Although both were considered Soviet victories, these conflicts spawned a neutrality pact between the USSR and Japan.

On April 13, 1941 the Soviet Union and Japan signed the Soviet–Japanese Neutrality Pact (Japanese–Soviet Non-Aggression Pact) to ensure peace between the two nations for nearly the duration of World War II. On April 5, 1945 the Soviet Union renounced the pact, signaling the potential for hostility of the USSR against Japan.

On August 9, 1945 after midnight, the Soviet Union launched "Operation August Storm" attacking Manchuria. Until the official surrender of Japan on September 2, 1945, the Soviet Union captured territory in Manchuria, Sakhalin Island and Kurile Islands. Postwar, Russia turned over Manchuria to China and was granted former Japanese territory including Sakhalin Island and Kurile Islands.

December 1991 marked the collapse of the Soviet Union and formation of the Russian Federation (Russia). On December 25, 1991 Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev resigned and handed power over to Russian President Boris Yeltsin. On December 26, 1991 marked the official dissolution of the USSR by the Supreme Soviet by declaration 142-Н.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
April 9, 2020


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram