Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Fiji (Republic of Fiji)  
Fiji is located in the South Pacific. Officially, the Republic of Fiji. The major islands include Vitu Levu Island, Vanua Leau Island plus many smaller islands. To the northeast is Wallis and Futuna (Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands).

Wartime History
At the start of the Pacific War, Fiji was a British colony. Japanese war plans included occupying Fiji but these plans were canceled after their defeat during the Battle of Midway.

During 1942, Fiji was occupied by American forces and developed into a staging base are with airfields and seaplane bases. On July 31, 1942 part of the American force departed Fiji for the invasion of Guadalcanal. During the Pacific War, Fijian soldiers fought with the Allies with eight thousand serving in the Solomon Islands and Bougainville.

On October 10, 1970, the United Kingdom granted Fiji independence and became the Republic of Fiji. Today, Fiji is divided into the Northern Division, Eastern Division, Western Division and Central Division.

Northern Division
The Norther Division spans Vanua Levu Island including the provinces of Macuata, Cakaudrove, and Bua.

Eastern Division
The Eastern Division spanning Ovalau Island including the provinces of Kadavu, Lau, Lomaiviti and Rotuma.
Koro Island  is part of the Lomaiviti Archipelago.

Western Division
The Western Division spans the western half of Viti Levu Island including provinces Ba, Nadroga-Navosa and Ra.
Viti Levu Island (Viti Levu)  large island is divided into the Northern, Western and Central Division.
Nadi  capital city on the west central coast of Viti Levu Island.
Lautoka  Located on the western coast of Viti Levu Island.
Saweni Bay  Located near Lautoka on the western coast.

Central Division
The Central Division spans the eastern half of Viti Levu Island including the provinces of Naitasiri, Namosi, Rewa, Serua and Tailevu. Includes Suva and Lauthala Bay.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
December 4, 2023


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram