Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    India (Republic of India)  
Located on the the Indian subcontinent. Borders Pakistan to the west are China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the northeast and Burma (Myanmar) and Bangladesh to the east. In the Indian Ocean is Sri Lanka (Ceylon) and the the Maldives Islands. Offshore are the Andaman Islands and Nicobar Islands which share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

Wartime History
The British Indian Empire encompassed present day India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. During the Pacific War, eastern India was attacked by Japanese Army forces and aircraft.  Many areas of India became staging bases and airfields in support of operations in China and Burma. Mohandas Gandhi's prominence as a statesman began during the war years and his influence lead postwar independence.

National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT)  capital New Delhi
Tripura State  located in eastern India bordering Bangladesh to the north, west and south
Ajmer State
Bhopal State
Bilaspur State
Bihar State
Uttar Pradesh State
Coorg State
Himachal Pradesh State
Cutch State
Manipur State  located in eastern India near the border with Burma
Vindhya Pradesh State
Tripura State  located in northeast India
Arunachal Pradesh State  located in northeast India
Assam State  located in northeast India
West Bengal State  located in northeast India
Tamil Nadu State  located on the Coromandel coast off the Bay of Bengal
Union Territories  seven territories that area administrative divisions in India.
Andaman and Nicobar Islands  located to the southeast of the Indian subcontinent.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
April 18, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram